

Mississippi State University College of Education Faculty Council 2023-2024

Members	Department	Term Expiration
Dr. Hailey Ripple	Counseling, Higher Ed Leadership, Educational Psychology, & Foundations	2025
Dr. Qiana Cutts	Counseling, Higher Ed Leadership, Educational Psychology, & Foundations	2024
Dr. Myron Labat	Teacher Education and Leadership	2025
Dr. Nicole Miller	Teacher Education and Leadership	2024
Dr. John Wyatt	Industrial Tech, Instructional Design, & Community College Leadership	2025
Dr. JoAnne Beriswill	Industrial Tech, Instructional Design, & Community College Leadership	2024
Dr. Matthew Zimmerman	Kinesiology	2025
Dr. Zhujun Pan	Kinesiology	2024
Dr. Alisha Milam	Meridian Division of Education	2025
Dr. Carlen Henington	Meridian Division of Education	2024
Dr. Roza Tulyaganova	Music	2025
Dr. Craig Aarhus	Music	2024

Purposes

The major purpose of the College of Education (COE) Faculty Council is to represent the COE Faculty in advising the Dean on matters directly related to the College in fulfillment of its mission.

Specifically, the Council shall:

- 1. Serve as a forum on matters pertaining to the role and mission of the College.
- 2. Seek to be representative of the interests, needs, and views of the COE faculty in general.
- 3. Consider all matters brought before it and make recommendations to the Dean concerning them.

Membership

Membership shall be two faculty members from each academic department and one member from all non-academic departments who choose to have a seat on the committee.

"Changing Tomorrow Through Education Today"

Members must be a faculty member in order to have voting privileges. Each member of the Council shall serve a period of two years. Election of members shall be held during the spring semester with membership to become official in August of the forthcoming academic year. In departments in which there are 2 representatives, one member must be elected in even years and one in odd years to ensure that approximately 50% of the overall Council's membership is retained every year. To serve one must be a faculty member (elected by all faculty members). A member may serve two consecutive terms, after which s/he is ineligible for membership on the Council for one year.

Officers of the COE Faculty Council shall consist of a Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary. These officers shall be elected at the last Council meeting of the present academic year by a majority vote of the council or those members present at the meeting. Officers shall serve for a period of one year and may not serve more than two consecutive terms in one office.

The COE Faculty Council shall meet regularly during the academic year, August-May, and upon call of the Chair or petition of eight members.

The Dean shall provide in the COE's budget and appropriation of funds and resources sufficient to allow the Faculty Council to perform its functions.