

## Mississippi State University, College of Education 2023-2024 Data Science Committee

Members	Department	Term
		Expiration
Dan Gadke, Co-Chair	College of Education Dean's Office	
Kim Hall, Co-Chair	College of Education Dean's Office	
Kasia Gallo	Counseling Higher Education Leadership, Educational	2025
	Psychology, & Foundations	
Rebecca Robichaux-Davis	Teacher Education and Leadership	2024
Christa Winkler	Educational Leadership	2025
Wei-Chieh Yu	Industrial Technology, Instructional Design, and	2024
	Community College Leadership	
JohnEric Smith	Kinesiology	2025
Richard Human	Music	2024

## **Purposes and Procedures**

Membership on the College of Education Data Science Committee will be comprised of one nominated faculty member from each academic department in Starkville. If the Data Science degree program is later added to the Meridian Campus, then a faculty member from MSU-M Division of Education will be added to the committee. For the first year of implementation (2022-2023), half of the committee will serve a 2-year term, while the other half will serve a 3-year term. After this, members will serve 2-year terms.

The purpose of the Data Science Committee will be to assist with developing concentrations for the BS degree in Data Science, as well as promoting and overseeing these concentration areas. The goals of the committee will be to

- 1. Develop 30 hour concentration areas in the College of Education
- 2. Help faculty understand how Data Science understand how data science can be applied in the College of Education degree programs
- 3. Promote the concentration areas for the College of Education
- 4. Oversee the concentration areas in the College of Education