

Mississippi State University College of Education Assessment Committee 2023-2024

Members:	Department
Dr. Mitzy Johnson, Chair	Assistant Dean
Dr. Kimberly Hall, Co-Chair	Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Dr. Craig Aarhus	Music (Undergraduate/Graduate)
Dr. Zach Ahonle	Counseling, Higher Education Leadership, Educational Psychology & Foundations
Dr. Kenny Anthony	Teacher Education and Leadership – Elementary Education (Undergraduate)
Dr. Paul Binford	Teacher Education and Leadership – Secondary Education (Social Studies)
Mr. Matt Blackwell	MSU Meridian Division of Education
Dr. Kellie Fondren	Teacher Education and Leadership – Special Education
Dr. Rebecca Robichaux-Davis	Teacher Education and Leadership – Elementary Education (Graduate)
Dr. Carlen Henington	MSU Meridian Division of Education
Dr. Missy Hopper	Teacher Education and Leadership – Secondary Education (English)
Dr. Dinetta Karriem	Counseling, Higher Education Leadership, Educational Psychology & Foundations
Dr. Alisha Milam	MSU Meridian Division of Education
Dr. Leigh Ann McMullan	Teacher Education and Leadership-Teacher Leadership
Dr. Myrick Nicks	MSU Meridian Division of Education
Dr. Donna Shea	Director, Office of Clinical/Field-Based Instruction, Licensure, & Outreach
Dr. Paula Tharp	Teacher Education and Leadership-School Administration
Dr. Brad Vickers	Kinesiology
Dr. Ksenia Zhbanova	MSU Meridian Division of Education

Ex-Officio	
Ms. Jenny Hartness	Database Administrator

Purposes and Procedures

The purpose of the Assessment Committee is to regularly engage in self-evaluation and assessment to improve operations and programs of the College of Education (COE) and coordinate the efforts of the COE in attending to the continuing accreditation expectations of CAEP and institutional accreditation, SACSCOC. This will involve regularly reviewing standards, developing and maintaining an integrated professional education core curriculum, developing a comprehensive program evaluation system, and regularly reviewing programs based on results of program reviews. This committee will be guided by the policies and procedures of the State Board of Education, the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning Board, current CAEP standards, current SACSOC standards, and current research on effective teaching.

Membership

The membership of this committee is comprised of representatives from departments, the Meridian Campus, the Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, the Assistant Dean, and the Director of the Office of Clinical/Field-Based Instruction, Licensure, and Outreach. Members will be appointed by department heads with input of the Assistant Dean and Associate Dean of Academic Affairs. Members must be a faculty member in the College of Education with the exceptions of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Assistant Dean, and the OCFBI Director who are appointed to the Assessment Committee. Each program area should be represented. The chair of this committee will be the individual designated as the CAEP Coordinator for the College.